



BC Arts Council Assessors for 2019/20

Council grant programs are adjudicated by peer assessment. Independent artists and other professionals working in the field are gathered together to assess grant applications, advise on priorities, and make recommendations to Council on the awarding of grants.

What follows is a complete list of assessors who sat on BC Arts Council juries and advisory committees between 1 April 2019 and 31 March 2020. Please also see the full list of <u>individuals, organizations and partner agencies</u> who received funding during this period.

We are grateful to the following individuals who served as advisors and jurors for the BC Arts Council and Council programs offered through ArtStarts in Schools, BC Touring Council, Creative BC and First Peoples' Cultural Council.

Professional Arts Funding

PROFESSIONAL OPERATING AND PROJECT ASSISTANCE

Arts & Cultural Service - Operating Mary-Louise Albert Tracey Kim Bonneau Malcolm Jay Dodge Stephen O'Shea	Arts Festivals / Studio Arts – Operating & Projects Katie Belcher Rylan Friday Joyce Rosario Laura Trunkey	Arts Festivals / Performing Arts – Operating & Projects Barbara Clausen Cole Schmidt Robert Thomson Donna Yamamoto
Professional Arts Training – Operating & Projects Martin Alldred Olivia C. Davies Carol Sawyer	Book Publishers - Operating & Projects Michelle Benjamin Sean Cranbury Vici Johnstone Brian Lam Shazia Hafiz Ramji	Dance – Operating Holly Bright Cristina Bucci Eloi Homier Robert Kitsos Caitlin McKee
Dance – Projects John Aitken Colleen Lanki Bonnie Sun Sujit Vaidya	Literary Arts - Operating & Projects Chris Arnett Corinna Chong Estlin McPhee Dorothy Nason	Public Museums & Indigenous Cultural Centres - Operating & Projects Andrew Hildred Salia Joseph Anissa Paulsen Timothy Paul van Wijk

Kira Westby





Media Arts - Operating &

Projects Todd Eacrett Alison Rajah Jeremy Todd Loretta Todd

Theatre - Operating

Caleb Marshall James MacDonald Jessica Schacht Jessica Schneider Donna Soares

Music – Operating

Leah Alfred Jennifer Butler Andy Hillhouse Karen E. Wilson

Theatre – Projects

Heather Cant Lucas Myers Jivesh Parasram Jessica Schacht Music – Projects

Annette Brosin Paul Luchkow Rainbow Robert Ray Zhuo

Visual Arts - Operating & Projects

Lisa Baldissera Raymond Boisjoly Michelle Jacques Lorna McParland Sarah Todd Timothy Paul van Wijk

INDIVIDUAL ARTS AWARDS

Creative Writers

Therese Champagne Kim Clark Dave Deveau Andrew Genaille George K. Ilsley Wanda John Rhea Tregebov

Media Artists

Allan Hopkins Krista Loughton Brady Marks Adam Grant Warren

Visual Artists

Suzanne Bessette Jeremy Borsos Farheen Haq John Marston

Professional Development Assistance / Touring Initiatives

Jesse Campbell Tracey Nelson **Ralph Escamillan** Monica Ogden **David Peter Ferguson** Arleen Pare Mark Leiren-Young **Monique Salez** Arnold Lim Kirk Schwartz **Rae Marks** Odessa Shuquaya John McLachlan Raj Sen Mieka Michaux Kaitlyn Yott





SCHOLARSHIP AWARDS

Creative Writing

Tawahum Bige Alix Hawley Charles Tidler

Music

Nicholas Fairbank Christi Meyers Deanna Newton-Gestrin Corey Rae

Additional Scholarship Assessors

Don Bourdon Twyla Exner Chad Hershler Godfre Leung

Strategic Initiatives Funding

Co-op Placements Laurence Beauvais Daune Campbell Kegan McFadden

Dance

Simone Aduah Rose Blais Paul Destrooper Joanne Leslie

Theatre

Raes Woodrow Calvert Shizuka Kai Roy Surette

Media Artists

Christopher Auchter Laura U. Marks Tia Taurere-Clearsky

Visual Arts

Daphne Boyer Samantha Dickie Twyla Exner Shawn Shepherd

Early Career Development

Kerriann Cardinal Babak Golkar Iain Macleod Higgins Claudia Medina-Culos Rodney Sharman Andrea Naomi Walsh Golnaz Zad

Strategic Opportunities

Joseph Bardsley Mercedes Batiz-Benet Michelle Benjamin Rosemary Georgeson Heather Lamoureux Angela Marston Kimberly Phillips

Youth Engagement Program

Sonny Assu Clayton Baraniuk Simone Blais Paulina Grainger Deblekha Guin Zavallennahh Huscroft Megan Quigley





Community Arts Funding

Arts Based Community Development & Leon and Thea Koerner

Timothy Agg Michael Averill Lindsay Delaronde Paula Jardine

Community Arts Council Assistance & Community Arts Development

Michelle Benjamin Caitlin Bryant Jamie Gentry Mark Haney Eric Rhys Miller

ArtsStarts in Schools

Artists in the Classroom Adjudication 1

Suki Davis Joanne Finlay Dawn Livera Brian Lye Vicky Raphael

BC Touring Council

Community Presenters Assistance

Leah Forman Lynnda McDougall Valentina Acevedo Montilla Cory Philley

Warming Up the Act - Adjudication 1

Jessi Fowlis Valley Hennell Jessica McMann Nadine Tremblay

Creative BC

Interactive Digital Media

Jordan Brighton Jeannette Kopak Marc Stephenson Colin Van Loon

Artists in the Classroom Adjudication 2

Michelle Hinatsu Shayna Jones Patricia Prince Mishel Quaal Ruby Smith Diaz

Mentorship & Youth Engagement

Erin Kennedy David Mann Valentina Acevedo Montilla

Warming Up the Act - Adjudication 2

Luisa Henz Sandy Powlik Nadine Tremblay





First Peoples' Cultural Council

Organizations and Collectives and the Arts Administrator Internship grant programs

Mariel Belanger Sharon Bird Darin Corbiere Joanne Finlay

Sharing Traditional Arts Across Generations and the

Community Land-based Arts grant programs

Diane Biin Liz Carter Danika Naccarella William White

Individual Artists Award

Joanne Arnott Norine Braun Shawna Kiesman Rosemarie Spahan